Lifewithrio’s Weblog


« Purple! | Home | Done!!! »

A love for the past

Picture 032

A couple of years ago I read a book that mentioned the word “precycling” and this got me off on a crazy tangent. It had never occured to me that I should actually minimize what trash I have to start with. Suddenly the world seemed full of packaging. Ever thought about this stuff? Why DO we use disposable..EVERYTHING? I mean fabric napkins are soo much prettier. I love real dishes too. Oh and cloth towels really are nicer than paper ones most of the time (see ..tangent..stop me now).  Can you imagine buying grocery items at the store that came packaged in beautiful fabrics that were then used to make dresses and then when the clothes and then scraps were turned in to beautiful blankets?

While in the midst of my tangent, I found myself hanging out with a guy that used a hanky instead of tissues. You know my dad used those at one point…hmm…and come to think of it I had a whole slew of pretty hankerchiefs that my Grandma passed on to me. I distinctly remember sitting on her bed and taking turns with my mom and sis picking out hankerchiefs and thinking of ways to use them. Stuff like framing them and hanging them up on the wall as decor. I had never dreamed of using them for *ahem* boogers before though. At first the idea excited me. I invisioned pretty little lacy things sticking out of my back pocket. Only problem was cleaning them. I mean do you seriously throw stuff with boogers just in the wash with your normal clothes? So I googled…and found blogs with others using them…and comments about “ew boogers in your pocket”. Back in the drawer they went. Nope. Couldn’t do it. No boogers in my pockets.

Today I was reading Soule mama’s blog and she showed these beautiful photos of the hankerchiefs her family uses. *sigh* …off to find them and try to use them again.

…So it seems I hid them (the booger idea really DID scare me. :p ). I did however find these pretties. 

Picture 033

At some point as a kid I got this brilliant idea that I would make a quilt and my grandmother found out about it. She got out a box for me and gave me this massive collection of flowers that were to make a Grandmother’s flower garden quilt. The pieces are truly amazing. Tiny little scraps of fabric and some pieces even have hexagons that are pieced out of two even smaller scraps!

They were started by my Great Great Grandma and my Great Grandma, but they never finished them so they passed them on to Grandma. Grandma made a few and never finished them as well (notice a trend). She skipped my mom and passed them on to me.  My sister found out about this and wanted some too. Being the sweet lil’ sis that I am I shared them (ok, really she tried to convince me she should have them ALL). We sat around taking turns picking out flowers just like the hankerchiefs and mom promised to make us both a flower so it the final quilt would not skip her generation.  (note to self: remind mom that she needs to make a flower still).

I guess I come by this unfinished projects thing genetically…

Oh and Hannah’s burp cloths…still not done. I promise I will finish them tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

